Food for the Soul

February 24, 2010

The topic of tweetups needs more attention.

Mainly because the Chicken and Waffles Road Trip I mentioned has come and gone.  And although my waistline will be in recovery for decades to come, I am comforted by the fact that my giddy smile may last even longer.

My better half rolls his baby blues every time I say the word.  “Baby, I’m heading out to Murasaki for @Tokyofan’s tweetup.  I’ll have a signature Tweetini for you.  Mua.”  Eyeroll.  However, “Headed to happy hour with Sami and friends” will elicit no such response.

That’s the difference between a Sunday brunch and the Chicken and Waffles South Side Roadtrip Tweetup.  It’s apples to cobbler:  Both are great but one of these is an event.

It came about simply.  A natural curiosity for this most unnatural (or so it seems) combination by a handful of flavor-lovin’ twitter friends.  If there exists a definitive origin for Chicken and Waffles, I can’t find it.  My favorite article involves Harlem, the Pennsylvania Dutch, and a book called “Fried Chicken: An American Story” by John T. Edge.  I would be compelled to read this because of the title alone.

Regardless of how and where it began, the chicken and waffles mystique brought four eager explorers together on Twitter.  Or would have, if @realerin hadn’t been stricken with a dreadful flu-bug.  So three of us pushed off on a road trip from rendezvous-point Andersonville to destination Bronzeville:

Chicago’s Home of Chicken and Waffles

3947 S MLK

We came.  We saw.  We waited.  And we ate.

And ate.

And ate.

Organizing a tweetup gave me the opportunity to bring together a small group of folks who I believed would get along well and who shared my enthusiasm for a delightfully excessive buffet of ridiculous proportion.  It gave us all the chance to make that wonderful transition from familiar moniker to friend.

What’s stopping you from planning a tweetup?

You go to them, don’t you?  Of course you do, whether it’s called one or not.  Whenever you go to a meetup, a happy hour, or any social gathering with an open invitation.  You go to say hi to old friends and perhaps make new friends.  If you can do business together somehow, even better (But that is not the goal, so put away your business cards).

So why not take the reins once in a while?  I can’t tell you how many times I notice people looking for interesting tweetups on any given night.  “Where are you headed?”  “Room for one more?” and my favorite after-the-fact inquiry:  “Why wasn’t I invited?”  It doesn’t have to be epic, only 3 of us went on the roadtrip and it was perfect for a lazy Sunday.

Pick something you like to do and post a simple “Anybody up for a <insert activity> tweetup??

You’ll be surprised by the response, I promise.

2 Responses to “Food for the Soul”


  1. Great Post! I am all about Meetup as I just started my first. I love the community. Mostly because of how awesome it is to take a virtual world and make it real.

    Keep tweeting the Tweetups!

    marty

  2. feliciacago Says:

    Thanks Marty! You’re right, that’s the fun of these things – bringing online connections into the real world. Are you on Twitter?


Leave a Reply

