Hiatus

May 4, 2010

Hiatus.

Now there’s a fancy word for lazy.

Hiatus is a suspension, an interruption, a break in continuity.  To ascribe the term “continuity” to my blog is ambitious considering its infancy but it’s preferable to the truth:  I’ve been lazy.

Not in the sit-in-a-beanbag-chair-staring-at-Hulu lazy.  In fact, I’ve added many items to my enormous life list of “Things I Done Did” such as:

  • Lure more people across state lines to one of my tweetups to eat, drink and be merry.  (Hi Russ and Barbara!)  Although technically, they were already coming to Chicago and it was Hooshna‘s and Dan‘s tweetup.  Scratch that one off.
  • Found out what my name really means thanks to Urban Dictionary.  Priceless.
  • Hosted four Phonatics events in April and managed to achieve the impossible.  Pho-verload.
  • Started a sick new job with a great team.

So clearly, I’ve been productive.

But I have been a lazy writer.  A non-writer.

I miss it.  The silence and the clarity.  I should be sleeping right now but the shiny new laptop and the sleeping city sucked me back for a quickie.  Even the dog seems surprised.

It’s hard to write because it means setting time aside to think and craft and edit.  Much easier, more convenient, to focus on that which requires immediate attention.  Then I can say, “Well, I don’t have time to blog because I’m too busy putting out fires.”

Soon I will take a hiatus from terrible excuses.

3 Responses to “Hiatus”

  1. Russ Says:

    Actually, I DID come to Chicago just to meet you, so you can leave it on the list! I told myself “the Urban Dictionary calls her a happy, hot tamale ninja, I have to meet her!” Plus, I had “get a blog post mention from a smart Chicago chica” on my list…so, mission accomplished. Thanks for the mention Felicia and I’ll see you soon. ~Russ_Dean


  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Veronica Ludwig. Veronica Ludwig said: Read @FeliciaCago's #latenightcrowd hiatus! 😛 http://ow.ly/1Hu92 […]

  3. Magda Says:

    Darlin I know how you feel. I have been on hiatus from EVERYTHING for about a week now. It’s been a slow progress of eliminating a lot of distractions. I really needed a reboot. Let’s just say I’m still formatting my hardrive but it’s getting there.

    I did this a couple of years ago, where I simply fell off the face of the earth for a month and did nothing but stay in and game, read and watch movies.

    Hope to see you soon though.


Leave a Reply

