The Gift Room

December 18, 2010

I’m missing my friend Julie this Christmas.

To be fair, I miss Julie and her wonderful husband Steve every single day, but this Christmas especially for some reason.

Julie and I worked together for many years although in different cities in Texas.  When I travelled to Austin from my Houston for work, I was welcomed into their home and spared from a lonely, impersonal, jizz-stained hotel room.

Julie and Steve had two grown children who had long since moved out into the world, having been raised in warm love and prepared for greatness.  One of their rooms had been converted into a guest bedroom and the other into…

The Gift Room.

What the hell is a Gift Room?

Obviously, a gift room is a place to store gifts.  For this delightful woman, The Gift Room is a place to store all of her lovely intentions and her generosity.

You see, throughout the year, Julie thinks of all the people she loves.  And when she comes across a ribbon, a bow, a card, a trinket, or any gift that might appeal to one of these lucky people, she pounces right then and there.  She seizes the thought and the opportunity to make a friend smile and she saves it for just the right occasion in The Gift Room.

You can imagine how fun this room is.

Shelves lined with boxes and bows, figurines, colors, and packages of all shapes and sizes.

She is prepared for birthdays, holidays, and thinking-of-you days.  I’ll bet she’s even prepared for surprise babies.

I’ve received cards for every birthday and holiday since I’ve known Julie.  I often wear the silver friendship bracelet she gave me.  I have Longhorns napkins still from our lunch years ago at the University of Texas alumni club.

When I lost my beautiful mother, Julie’s was the first call I received.  And thereafter, she became the woman I turn to for guidance.  That was her ultimate gift to me.  It wasn’t in a box and it was wrapped with no bow, but it’s in that room nonetheless.  It’s her intent to bring comfort and love at any moment.

That’s what The Gift Room is. Not just a room full of things.  It’s a room filled with thoughts.  Of us.

My mother died ten years ago.  And Julie lives way down yonder in Austin.

So yes, I am missing my mother this Christmas.  Both of them.

7 Responses to “The Gift Room”

  1. Tom Rubin Says:

    What a beautiful story!
    Felicia, you are a wonderful person inside and out. You are loved by many and I feel you deserve every bit of that love.

    I bet Julie misses you as much as you miss her.

    *hugs*

  2. dorothyn21 Says:

    This is a really sweet story. I have a person like Julie in my life too. I totally feel what you are saying.

  3. Brandon Says:

    Nice post! I know that type of person, and it’s a shame they’re so rare.. maybe that’s part of what makes them so special.

    If you read this, Julie, my birthday is March 23.. Just sayin’.

  4. Desmognathus Says:

    I miss mine too. ((Hug.))


Leave a Reply

