The Mood Queue

February 15, 2011

Favorite movie lists are meaningless.

Sure, we all have favorites. Cool Hand Luke is near the top of my ever-changing list, but today I am just not in the mood.

Lately, I crave comfort and familiarity so I’m not watching anything new. My reruns are on in the background as I write for clients or for pleasure, to activate the part of my brain that operates best when I’m safe and warm and fed. I’m pretty sure it’s called the Hippocamygdala.

It’s not slacking because I’m not really watching.

I know these films by heart. They do not ask for my undivided attention. They hum in the air around me like a space heater at my feet or the crackle of bacon frying in a cast-iron skillet. They massage my skin like cashmere pajamas.

They seep into me.

I’m not procrastinating, writing this blog post.

I’m simply acknowledging what Mame Dennis just elicited from my brain: “Live! Live! Live!”

It’s just a break. I needed a break.

Wait a sec. Was I in the mood for Auntie Mame or did it create my mood?

I propose an experiment. I’ll list movies I’d love to watch, off the top of my head, to determine which mood is a’comin.

Mood Queue:

Arthur, Camelot, Poolhall Junkies, All About Eve, The Graduate, Ladyhawke, The Descent, Imitation of Life, Twice Upon a Yesterday, Serenity, Lovelife, The Princess Bride, Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner, Two For the Road, Barefoot in the Park, Butterflies are Free.

?

 

Nope. No idea.

OK yes, I am procrastinating. That’s enough for now. Besides, Arthur is starting.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s in your mood queue?

One Response to “The Mood Queue”

  1. Tom Rubin Says:

    Great post, it’s interesting to hear about other peoples taste in movies.

    Some of those movies you mentioned, I don’t think I’ve seen. I will have to check out a title or two.

    A few of my main back ground movies are any of the Lord Of The Rings movies. Probably because I’m a huge Tolkien fan 🙂


Leave a Reply

