How to Fall Back in Love

October 19, 2015

It’s easy to do. We all take for granted the one we love.

Year after year, we look at the same ol’ face and forget all the things that once mesmerized. Our enthusiasm seems reserved more for the “new” than for the more-deserving tried-and-true. Where did the heat go? Where’s the excitement? We forget that it’s our responsibility to keep looking past the known. How presumptuous we are, to believe there are no more surprises to be had; to believe we know everything there is to know.

Then, something comes along to give us a kick in the pants to remind us how lucky we are blah blah blah grateful blah blah. That will last for about a day. We are flawed and selfish and doomed. But I digress.

Over the weekend, Open House Chicago 2015 gave me such a kick.

200 sites. Hidden gems. Behind-the-scenes access. Free. All motivating words.

I had forgotten how much I love my love: Chicago. Too many long days at work, too many trips, and too much of the “busy” had driven me indoors during my free time. To recharge, I told myself. All the while, neglecting my love.

My friend Anne and I decided to make a day of it. Starting with:

Lakeside Development, South Shore

Rainbow Beach
OK, not necessarily part of the Open House Chicago site list, but since we were nearby, we explored.

Windsor Beach Co-Op Apartments

South Shore Cultural Center

Stony Island Arts Bank

Then, after a hearty hearth-to-table lunch at Promontory in Hyde Park…

New Regal Theater (Avalon Theater)

2015-10-18 14.54.59

I didn’t take any pics inside this gorgeous structure because it was dark and a flash is just obnoxious.

Meyers Ace Hardware (Sunset Jazz Cafe)

Not much to see here in terms of its legacy, save for a box of old menus, sheet music, and partially visible original murals on the wall. More satisfying to read about the history of the building, but I’m glad we went. Also, I love a hardware store and scored a cast iron skillet for $20.

Illinois Institute of Technology, S.R. Crown Hall

I would have missed this one were it not for Anne and her love of Mies van der Rohe. But I went straight for the models.

Swift Mansion, now Inner City Youth & Adult Foundation
I didn’t take any pics here to respect the privacy of the Foundation. The tour was less about Swift Mansion and more about the current occupants and their inspiring initiatives.

And finally, we ended in Bridgeport to introduce Anne to my beloved Bernice’s Tavern and to Mr. Stingo himself. While there, a local chap stopped by with Mira, and falling madly in love with her was the perfect way to end the day.

2015-10-18 17.38.31

I have no idea how long the OHC links will be live, so I linked to the site URLs whenever possible. Obviously, I have barely scratched the surface of the 200 sites offered by #OHC2015, and the thousands of other sights available to us every day. I promise to do better.

That’s all it took for me to remember my love, and my duty to her.

So, thank you, Chicago Architecture Foundation for reminding me how much I love this city. The next time I forget, I promise to remember that she gives me plenty. The rest is up to me.

Leave a Reply

